Series I or Series II ?

Jantiz

I have a couple of friends at work doing some VERY serious consideration on purchasing their first Land Rover and joining the club. They are looking at Discos and I am Disco stupid since I've never owned one and I'm kinda new to the brand myself. What is the actual difference between the Series I and the II ? Any advice either way? At least one of them is definitely planing on serious mods and off road. As usual, your experience and expertise is apreciated.

I think main thing comes down to age -- you'll have a harder time finding a low mileage D1 than a D2. And with the D2 -- you gotta remember to look for that pesky CDL that some models didn't have starting in 2000/2001 or thereabouts until it came back in 2004..

I never really wheeled my D1 (other than stock) but I've heard it's easier to work on a D1 than a D2 for some field repairs such as broken axles, etc.. Plus I think the electronics on the D2 are more complex -- but I've also heard not as screwy since they aren't Lucas..There are mods to the D2 (such as replacing the airbag with springs) that might be more expensive -- but if you are gonna lift it anyway sometime maybe it ends up being a push.

You should have your friend swing by Cerrones some time -- they have loaners that are D1s and D2's -- and ask the real expert there. And before he buys -- I'd really reccomend having him have Frank check the rig out before the purchase. He knows the peculiarities of the various models.

I'm sure other members will weigh in...