Camp desserts ideas

BEAR

As some of you you know I’m a firefighter in the Bay Area and with that comes some pretty good meals. So I took that experience and put it into the Overland community and have been cooking for an outfit. I have a problem coming up with good desserts to cook in the bush. I never cook dessert at the fire house or at home.

Does anyone have good ideas? I don’t have much experience with a Dutch oven and I’m cooking for six people.

As some of you you know I’m a firefighter in the Bay Area and with that comes some pretty good meals. So I took that experience and put it into the Overland community and have been cooking for an outfit. I have a problem coming up with good desserts to cook in the bush. I never cook dessert at the fire house or at home.

Does anyone have good ideas? I don’t have much experience with a Dutch oven and I’m cooking for six people.

Peach cobbler.  An old Boy Scout dutch oven recipe.  In fact more like a sponge pudding, but close enough.  I must have the recipe somewhere ....

Graeme

Peach cobbler.  An old Boy Scout dutch oven recipe.  In fact more like a sponge pudding, but close enough.  I must have the recipe somewhere ....

Graeme

This one is close:

Ingredients
  • 2 (16-ounce) cans sliced peaches in heavy or light syrup, or in fruit juice
  • 1/2 cup baking mix (recommended: Bisquick)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • Ground cinnamon
Topping:
  • 2 1/4 cups baking mix (recommended: Bisquick)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • Cinnamon sugar (1/4 cup sugar combined with 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon; store in an empty spice shaker jar; shake well before each use)

Spray a Dutch oven with vegetable oil cooking spray

Drain 1 can of the peaches. Combine both cans of peaches, including the juice from the undrained can, the baking mix, sugar, and a sprinkling of cinnamon. Place this mixture into the Dutch oven.